Securing America's Future Energy

SAFE Energy Security Prize

The SAFE Energy Security Prize is designed to support the critical efforts of companies whose ingenuity, leadership, and perseverance are poised to advance American energy security by helping to end the United States’ dependence on oil.

This year’s Prize is powered by The InterTech Group and is awarded in memory of the company’s Founder, President and CEO, Jerry Zucker. Mr. Zucker was first and foremost an inventor and scientist, driven by a life-long passion to create technologies that could revolutionize the world and improve the health of our country. As a prominent businessman, Mr. Zucker worked tirelessly not only to discover these technologies but to bring them to market quickly and efficiently. Mr. Zucker was passionate about the significant advancements technology could make in reducing America’s dependence on oil and thus strengthening our country’s economic and national security.

CNBC and Clemson University are official partners of the SAFE Energy Security Prize.

Meet the finalists of the 2015 Energy Security Prize below.

  • FreeWire Technologies’ Mobi electric vehicle (EV) charger helps eliminate the “charge rage” facing areas with high EV adoption and insufficient charging capacity.
  • Peloton Technology’s wireless communications system and cloud-based management links sensors and braking between pairs of trucks to provide dramatic aerodynamic fuel savings and increased safety.
  • Momentum Dynamics’ High-power wireless charging system delivers energy to electric vehicles via induction ten times faster than plug-in chargers and can help accelerate consumer EV adoption.
  • SeaChange Group’s patented Eco-Hybrid fuel uses glycerol, a byproduct of biodiesel production, to reduce emissions in diesel engines and costs for maritime vessels and off-road equipment.

1111 19th Street, NW #406, Washington, DC 20036