Securing America's Future Energy

SAFE Announces Semifinalists of 2015 Energy Security Prize—American Innovations Poised to Reduce U.S. Oil Consumption

Contact: Ellen Carey
Number: 202-461-2382
Four companies remain in the running for the grand prize of $125,000; online voting begins July 8, 2015

Washington, D.C. – Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE) announced today the four semifinalists of its 2015 Energy Security Prize, awarding a total of $175,000 to companies whose innovations are poised to advance American energy security by helping to end the United States’ dependence on oil. The winner of the 2015 Prize will receive $125,000, the first runner up $35,000 and the second runner up $15,000.

The four semifinalists are FreeWire Technologies, Momentum Dynamics, Peloton Technology, and SeaChange Group. Videos of the semifinalists can be viewed at

FreeWire Technologies’ Mobi electric vehicle (EV) charger helps eliminate the “charge rage” facing areas with high EV adoption and insufficient charging capacity. Mobis decouple infrastructure from parking spots by using repurposed EV batteries to deliver power via a fully motorized platform. Each Mobi, with its 40 kilowatt-hour capacity, can top off up to four vehicles in the morning, recharge, and be ready to power additional EVs in the afternoon.

Momentum Dynamics seeks to take DC fast charging for electric vehicles to the next level, pioneering a wireless charging system designed for the workplace and public locations like shopping centers and restaurants. Their unique 25-kilowatt wireless charging pad delivers power via magnetic induction ten times faster than home-based plug-in chargers, overcoming barriers to EV adoption by allowing EVs to charge frequently, quickly and automatically.

Peloton Technology aims to increase safety, efficiency, and profits for America’s trucking fleets with its Truck Platooning System, which wirelessly links pairs of tractor-trailers. These two-truck “platoons” share collision avoidance radar and other sensors, braking automatically and nearly instantaneously, allowing trucks to travel at closer distances, providing aerodynamic fuel savings of up to 10 percent for both vehicles. A cloud-based network operations center improves driver awareness and dynamically manages platooning to ensure it is only done under appropriate conditions.

SeaChange Group is tackling an important opportunity for oil displacement: maritime vessels, locomotives and off-road equipment. Using the primary byproduct from biodiesel production, glycerol, SeaChange has created a fuel blend to markedly reduce oil use and emissions from all manner of seafaring vessels (to start) while eliminating the need for costly add-ons such as exhaust scrubbers. On top of the environmental and health benefits, SeaChange’s Eco-Hybrid™ fuel is cheaper than regular diesel. The company is currently testing the new fuel at sea and producing 1,000 gallons daily with its pilot processor.

These four semifinalists were selected by two rounds of judging by expert panels comprised of industry leaders, energy and transportation specialists, and academics. This year’s three finalists will be announced in the days leading up to the Energy Security Prize awards ceremony, to be held in Charleston, S.C. on July 31.

Partners CNBC and Clemson University will join SAFE in Charleston to announce the grand prize winner, runner up, and second runner up of the 2015 Prize at an event featuring leaders in the fields of business, policy, and national security, celebrating these technologies and selecting those with the greatest potential to transform the way the world moves goods and people.

“SAFE is eager to provide America’s next generation of energy innovators and entrepreneurs with the support they need to bring their products to market and reduce our country’s dependence on oil,” said SAFE President and CEO Robbie Diamond. “Achieving true energy security will require the efforts of companies and organizations large and small, and we believe that the 2015 Prize semifinalists are an integral part of that vision. This year, we are particularly honored to share that vision with our exceptional partners The InterTech Group, Clemson University, and CNBC.”

This year’s Energy Security Prize is Powered by The InterTech Group and is awarded in memory of the company’s Founder, President and CEO, Jerry Zucker. Mr. Zucker was driven by a life-long passion to create technologies that could revolutionize the world and improve the health of our country. As a prominent businessman, Mr. Zucker worked tirelessly not only to discover these technologies but to bring them to market quickly and efficiently. Mr. Zucker was passionate about the significant advancements technology could make in reducing America’s dependence on oil, strengthening our country’s economic and national security.

For more about the 2015 SAFE Energy Security Prize and to view the videos of the semifinalists, please visit, and be sure to be sure to tune in on July 8 when our public voting period begins. You will have the opportunity to vote for the semifinalist you think has the most promising oil displacement technology.

About Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE)
Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE)
is a nonpartisan organization that aims to reduce America’s dependence on oil and improve U.S. energy security to bolster national security and strengthen the economy. SAFE advocates for expanded domestic production of U.S. oil and gas resources, continued improvements in fuel efficiency, and in the long-term, breaking oil’s stranglehold on the transportation sector through alternatives like natural gas for heavy-duty trucks and plug-in electric vehicles. In 2006, SAFE joined with General P.X. Kelley (Ret.), 28th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, and Frederick W. Smith, Chairman, President, and CEO of FedEx Corporation, to form the Energy Security Leadership Council (ESLC), a group of business and former military leaders committed to reducing U.S. oil dependence.

1111 19th Street, NW #406, Washington, DC 20036