Securing America's Future Energy

Online Voting begins for 2015 SAFE Energy Security Prize

Contact: Ellen Carey
Number: 202-461-2382
The public helps determine the grand prize winner of $125,000—the most promising technology to displace oil from the economy and enhance U.S. energy security. 

Cast your vote today!

Washington, D.C. – Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE) announced today the launch of online voting for its 2015 Energy Security Prize, awarding a total of $175,000 to companies whose innovations are poised to advance American energy security by helping to end the United States’ dependence on oil. The winner of the 2015 Prize will receive $125,000, the first runner up $35,000 and the second runner up $15,000.

Members of the public may cast their votes for one of four semifinalists: FreeWire Technologies, Momentum Dynamics, Peloton Technology, and SeaChange Group. Voters can view each entrant’s pitch video to determine their favorite at

These semifinalists were selected by two rounds of expert panels comprised of industry leaders, energy and transportation specialists, and academics:

FreeWire Technologies’ Mobi electric vehicle (EV) charger helps eliminate the “charge rage” facing areas with high EV adoption and insufficient charging capacity.

Momentum Dynamics’ high-power wireless charging system delivers energy to electric vehicles via induction ten times faster than plug-in chargers and can help accelerate consumer EV adoption.

Peloton Technology’s wireless communications system and cloud-based management links sensors and braking between pairs of trucks to provide dramatic aerodynamic fuel savings and increased safety.

SeaChange Group’s patented Eco-Hybrid fuel uses glycerol, a byproduct of biodiesel production, to reduce emissions in diesel engines and costs for maritime vessels and off-road equipment.

This year’s three finalists will be announced leading up to the Energy Security Prize awards ceremony to be held in Charleston, S.C. on July 31. Attendees will hear remarks from General T. Michael Moseley, former Chief of Staff of the U.S. Air Force, and Larry Kellerman, Managing Partner of Twenty-First Century Utilities, who will speak to the national and economic security benefits of lessening America’s near-exclusive reliance on oil to power transportation.

Partners CNBC and Clemson University will join SAFE in Charleston with CNBC broadcasting interviews with the finalists and announcing the grand prize winner on Power Lunch. Be sure to tune in Friday, July 31 from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m.

“Game-changing technologies cannot just be impressive machinery,” said SAFE Founder and CEO Robbie Diamond. “Truly transformational innovations need to be accepted and embraced by the public. SAFE is proud to share the semifinalists’ technologies with the public and ask for their help in determining the winner. We congratulate the semifinalists and look forward to seeing them play a critical role in reducing U.S. oil dependence.”

This year’s Energy Security Prize is Powered by The InterTech Group and is awarded in memory of the company’s Founder, President and CEO, Jerry Zucker. Mr. Zucker was driven by a life-long passion to create technologies that could revolutionize the world and improve the health of our country. As a prominent businessman, Mr. Zucker worked tirelessly not only to discover these technologies but to bring them to market quickly and efficiently. Mr. Zucker was passionate about the significant advancements technology could make in reducing America’s dependence on oil, strengthening our country’s economic and national security.

For more about the 2015 SAFE Energy Security Prize and to vote on this year’s semifinalists, please visit

About Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE)
Securing America’s Future Energy (SAFE)
is a nonpartisan organization that aims to reduce America’s dependence on oil and improve U.S. energy security to bolster national security and strengthen the economy. SAFE advocates for expanded domestic production of U.S. oil and gas resources, continued improvements in fuel efficiency, and in the long-term, breaking oil’s stranglehold on the transportation sector through alternatives like natural gas for heavy-duty trucks and plug-in electric vehicles. In 2006, SAFE joined with General P.X. Kelley (Ret.), 28th Commandant of the U.S. Marine Corps, and Frederick W. Smith, Chairman, President, and CEO of FedEx Corporation, to form the Energy Security Leadership Council (ESLC), a group of business and former military leaders committed to reducing U.S. oil dependence.

1111 19th Street, NW #406, Washington, DC 20036